Local News

Hand count ballot measures lose in 3 South Dakota counties

todayJune 4, 2024 3

share close

SIOUX FALLS, S.D. (KELO) — Three South Dakota counties voted against ballot measures aimed at banning tabulator voting machines to be used in future elections during Tuesday’s primary election. 

Gregory, Haakon and Tripp counties were all considering whether to ban tabulator machines after enough petitions were signed to place the issue in front of voters. 

In Tripp County, which did a hand count for the November 2022 election, the ballot measure changing the use of automatic tabulators within the county failed 57%-43% (734 voted no and 553 voted yes). 

In Haakon County, the ballot measure that would have prohibited the use of tabulating machines failed 61%-39% (276 voted no and 177 voted yes). 

In Gregory County, a ballot measure eliminating the use of tabulating machines in the county failed 54%-46% (587 voted no and 509 voted yes). 

McPherson County Commission rejects petition on ban of election electronics

Proponents of hand counting votes claim voting machines lack transparency and have taken a county-by-county approach to forcing counties to hand count ballots. In April, the McPherson County Commission voted against banning electronic voting and tabulating machines. 

McPherson County will recount all votes by hand after every election.

Written by: Badlands Classic Rock

Rate it

Who we are

Rapid City, South Dakota’s only commercial free unedited internet classic rock radio station; playing a little newer rock and mainly older rock. A fully licensed stream.

This station is part of the Deep Dive Radio Network.


Our radio is always online!

Listen now completely free!

Give us your feedback!


If you like Badlands Classic Rock, please consider making a donation. Your donation goes towards keeping the station commercial free, and helps with operating costs.

More Ways To Listen